Home

relishWhen I get a house I’m going to have 10 bags of sugar.

Versatile recipes inspire creativity in the kitchen and release us from the same-old dinners week after week; here’s a relish that can be eaten plain with chips, made into cream cheese party dip, used as topping for chicken…or whatever else you can come up with!

 

Going back to the 10 bags of sugar…

Ben and I took a leap on September 1st and made an offer on on a short-sale house. Christmas came and still no contract… So it’s my parents’ home for the holidays this year since our apartment just wouldn’t do.

I found myself adding, “When I get my house…” to nearly every conversation while baking in my parents’ kitchen. I reached for the sugar only to find I was short 1/4 cup. So, I searched the pantry and was surprised to find a stock-pile of sugar that my mother had accumulated. [It was on sale, so she bought several bags]. I bake often, I will play hostess and I believe in saving money; so, when I get a house I’m going to have 10 bags of sugar, too.

 

Time: 15 minutes prep + 4 hours refrigeration

1  12 oz package fresh cranberries
1/4 cup green onion, chopped
1/4 cup cilantro, chopped
1 small jalapeno pepper
1 1/4 cup sugar
1/4 teaspoon cumin
2 tablespoon lemon juice
dash salt
  1. Chop cranberries to desired size by-hand or in a food processor.
  2. Finely chop the green onion, cilantro, and jalapeno.
  3. Combine all ingredients in a bowl. Cover and store in the refrigerator to allow flavors to meld (approximately four hours)

Serving Ideas:

Pour over 2 8-ounce packaged of cream cheese to make dip. Note: You can leave the cream cheese bricks whole or spread them out evenly on a platter before topping with relish.Yield: 15 servings (see photo)

Put over chicken

Enjoy with crackers

One thought on “Cranberry Relish

Leave a comment