Home
cbread

credit to williams sonoma

What’s your cornbread style?

Growing up, I was all about the boxed Jiffy cornbread. I’m pretty sure I asked my mom to make it at once a week for the better half of a year.( I’m no stranger to getting stuck on eating one thing until the day I find another food to replace it with.)

During my travels I have discovered two places with outstanding cornbread:

The House of Blues – they had a fabulously-unique rosemary cornbread smothered in ‘Voodoo Shrimp’ that I couldn’t get enough of.

– Naperville, Illinois at Heaven on Seven – I ordered etouffee, but the cornbread underneath stole the spotlight. The recipe has been published by the head chef and is provided below!

.

All Purpose Flour 1 1/3 cup
Finely Ground Corn Flour 1 cup plus 2 tablespoons
Granulated Sugar 2/3 cup
Baking Powder 5 teaspoons
Kosher salt ½ teaspoon
Large Egg 1 each
Milk 1 1/3 cup
Unsalted butter, melted 5 tablespoons
Bacon drippings, optional 1 teaspoon

1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F. Grease an 8×8 baking pan.

2. Combine the flours, sugar, baking powder, and salt in a large bowl.

3. In a small bowl, lightly beat the egg, then whisk in the milk, butter, and bacon drippings. Pour the wet ingredients into the flour mixture and mix until smooth.

4. Transfer to the prepared pan and bake 50 minutes, until golden brown. Cool slightly before cutting.

VARIATION:

Cheddar-Jalapeno Corn Bread: (the only way to go in my opinion)
For variety, fold 1 cup grated cheddar cheese and 3 tablespoons seeded, chopped jalapeno into the batter after combining the wet and dry ingredients.

Adding two strips of bacon (finely chopped) and some minced green onions never hurt anyone, either!

Leave a comment